Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loreto Library: Picture Book Collection

Picture books banner

Picture Book Author and Illustrator - Anthony Browne

Anthony Browne is an award winning author and illustrator, and was the Children's Laureate from 2009-2011.

Anthony Browne in his studio

Anthony Browne discusses why picture books are important:

Clever Picture Books

Some picture books are in our collection because they are clever:

Classic Picture Books

Some picture books are in our collection because they are classics:

Funny Picture Books

Some picture books are in our collection because they are funny!

The Picture Book Collection

Picture books tell a story through both words and pictures. Good picture books will do this, but wonderful picture books will achieve a special unity between both narratives, often evoking a strong emotional response from the reader.

Feminist Picture Books

Some picture books are in our collection because we use them for examples of feminist literature!

Picture Books for Older Readers

Not all picture books are written for little people. Some are sophisticated and dynamic pieces of writing combined with illustrations that add deep meaning to the text. Examples of books in this category are: 

Award Winning Picture Books

Many picture books are in our collection because they are award winning:

Picture Book Author and Illustrator - Shaun Tan

Award winning Australian author Shaun Tan shows us how he works in his studio to create his extraordinary picture books: 

Shaun talks about his work on The Lost Thing which was made into a short film:

The Human Condition in Picture Books

Some picture books are in our collection because they inform us about the human condition:

Unique Perspective Picture Books

Some picture books are in our collection because they show us something about our world in a unique way: