Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loreto Library: Information for Teachers

Antoinette Hayden Library Information for Staff 2020

The Loreto College Library Resource Centre provides curriculum based resources and recreational materials in a wide range of print, digital and online formats, to accommodate the current needs of both staff and students, and to support the curriculum and cultural ethos of the college. This information guide outlines the resources, facilities and services available to support the teaching, learning and recreational needs of staff and students.

Print the PDF as a reference guide, or refer to the content boxes below. 

We Offer ... (Quick Checklist)

  • Access for classes
  • Advanced research skills lessons
  • Assistance with your enquiry        
  • Audio and video recording
  • Bluetooth speakers
  • Board games
  • Book talks for your class
  • CD players (yes, we do still have a few of these!)
  • Children’s Book Week celebrations
  • ClickView
  • Compilation of bibliographies
  • Daily newspapers
  • Digital cameras and
  • DVD/CD players for laptops
  • Extensive fiction and non-fiction collections
  • Extensive picture book collection
  • Fiction booklists
  • Headphones
  • Holiday borrowing
  • ID cards supplied
  • Laminating for staff
  • Library orientation sessions and information skills program
  • Meeting Rooms for Faculty, Department meetings etc
  • Missed test supervision
  • Online bookings for rooms and equipment
  • Online databases
  • Ordering of resources for departments
  • Periodical collection
  • Photocopying facilities
  • Research guides
  • Study facilities for senior students (mezzanine for yr 12 study)
  • Video cameras

Newspapers

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

The Library purchases copies of The Age, The Australian, The Courier and The Herald Sun for the Library every day of the year and the Herald Sun and The Courier for the staff room each school day.  Back copies are kept for six months.

Visit our Newspapers LibGuide for information on full-text access to newspapers and newspaper article research and analysis. 

Equipment

For staff and student use we have the following items.  Please keep in mind these items are in high demand and will be required to be returned promptly.

  • PowerPoint presenters
  • Flip cameras
  • Digital cameras
  • UE Boom Bluetooth speakers
  • CD/DVD Drives

Printing in the Library

Students may print to the Library photocopier and may photocopy using their Library ID Card.The printer offers black and white or colour printing as well as scanning.

Staff are asked to limit their copying on this machine at peak times such as before school, recess or lunch time.  All large print runs should be undertaken at Student Reception or upstairs near the Development Office.

Borrowing - Staff

The Library has an extensive collection of Teacher Reference materials including current text books and support material. It is expected that staff will return items no longer required so that other staff members may use them and all staff are required to return resources to the Library at the end of each year or to renew for the following year using a Library pro forma. From time to time a list of items on loan will be sent to staff.  The Library also has a wide selection of DVDs, novels, biographies and periodicals as well as non-fiction resources for staff use.

Research Guides: Developing Students' Information Literacy Skills

Information received about your research topic, in advance of Library bookings, will help us to help you, by

  • accessing appropriate resources from various sources
  • enabling students to focus on the task and to research effectively
  • improving collection mapping – developing strengths and weaknesses
  • contributing to the development of the collection – addressing needs of Library users   

In consultation with the Head of Faculty and or class teachers, the Library staff will be happy to develop a LibGuides research page for any units of work incorporating digital and print resources.  Our LibGuides digital platform is accessible from school or home.  The Head of Library is available to work with staff and students to assist in the research aspects of the unit of work. For more information on how our Digital Resources can enhance your teaching program please see or email mphillips@loreto.vic.edu.au.        

Library Collection - Material Selection

The Head of Library is responsible for the development of the Library collection, including the Library home pages, and the purchase of periodicals, newspapers, books, audio-visual material and equipment. She will assist Heads of Faculties with items on approval, publishers’ information and searches. Faculty Heads are responsible for selecting specific curriculum-related materials, often in consultation with the Head of Library.

Items purchased by Heads of Faculties must be handed to the Head of Library together with the appropriate invoice and purchase order blue slip, for processing. If teaching staff require a text or other resource, they need to consult with their Head of Faculty first. Staff are asked to not acquire resources without authorisation.

Borrowing - Students

Students may borrow up to 10 books at one time and students are required to present their Library ID card.  DVDs are generally not for loan, except during school hours or with written permission from the teacher. Equipment may be borrowed for use within the school.  Students may be sent from class to borrow in small groups (no more than 8). 

Overdue Books - Students

Lists of overdue books are compiled on a regular basis and the lists are emailed to students or printed and put in Mentor Group folders for distribution to the students. 

Library Bookings

Up to three classes of 26 can use the Library concurrently. The Central Reading Area is ideal for a quiet reading session.  We also have table areas and a large presentation room which can accommodate two classes if required. This room has a data projector and is VIVI enabled. Two small meeting rooms are available for tutorials or classes. Meeting Room 1 is equipped with a whiteboard, data projector and is VIVI enabled. 

To book any of the Library areas please use SIMON on the school network or contact Library staff for any assistance needed.

Student Use of the Library for Private Study or Research

Students from Years 7-10 may be sent to the Library for private study in small groups of no more than eight students. Students must bring an Out of Class Pass or note from their teacher when arriving at the Library. This is to ensure that students are at the Library with the teacher’s knowledge and to inform the Library staff of the reason for the visit. Students who are unwilling or unable to work independently may be sent back to class. Students do not need a pass if they are coming to collect printing from the copier.

Year 12 students have open access to the Library for study purposes. There are also 17 desks on the mezzanine level for Year 12 students to use; this space is strictly for silent study only. The mezzanine area also holds the Teacher Reference collection.

Teachers requiring a student to use the Library for extended periods of private study are requested to discuss this with the Head of Library so that the reason for extra study hours is understood and the proper management of those study times can be maintained.

Television Programs

Link to ClickView

At Loreto we use ClickView, a digital video system, and both staff and students have access to it.  Please speak to a member of the Library Team for more information or help with ClickView.

If you would like a recording of a television program please contact our Librarian, Donna Byrne or Head of Library, Marcia Phillips.  Please keep in mind that we cannot, due to copyright restrictions, place a commercial DVD into our ClickView Library.

Displays

Bauhaus History Display

Bauhaus History Display, 2019

Displays are used as a means of promoting the love of reading, the Library, fostering the cultural ethos of the school and they provide an engaging environment for personal learning. We are happy to support the curriculum by setting up displays reflecting units of work currently being taught, or by displaying students’ own work.