Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News and statistics: Newspapers

bundled newspaper stack

The Courier

The Courier logo

 

The Library receives Monday to Friday issues. Back issues are available from September 1 of the previous year. 

There is very limited access to what is freely available on The Courier's website. However, Loreto students and staff can obtain access by signing up for a free personal account using their Loreto email address. For further information on how to set up the account, please contact the Library. 

 

The Australian

The Australian logo

The Library receives copies of The Australian/The Weekend Australian. Back issues are available from September 1 of the previous year. 

There is very limited access to what is freely available on The Australian website. However, Loreto has online access to The Australian via the Newsbank database, with full text coverage dating back to the start of 1998. 

The Newsbank database can be used for browsing a particular online issue of a selection of newspapers (including The Australian), or to search for articles on a topic within issues and across different newspapers. See the Finding newspapers articles tab for information on how to use Newsbank. 

Herald Sun

Herald Sun logo

The Library receives the Herald Sun in print, including the weekend versions. Back issues are available from September 1 of the previous year. 

There is very limited access to what is freely available on the Herald Sun website. However, Loreto has online access to the Herald Sun via the Newsbank database, with full text coverage dating back to November 1999. 

 

The Newsbank database can be used for browsing a particular online issue of a selection of newspapers (including the Herald Sun), or to search for articles on a topic within issues and across different newspapers. See the Finding newspapers articles tab for information on how to use Newsbank. 

The Age

The Age logo

The Library receives The Age in print, including the weekend versions. Back issues are available from September 1 of the previous year. 

There is limited access to what is freely available on The Age's website. 

Library staff can help you find a print copy of an article you identify online but can't access. 

Newspapers as a source of information

Newspapers can be a valuable source of information for finding out about key events, people and places. They:

  • Record an event or issue close to when it happened, as well as its development
  • Capture the reactions of people to an event, including eyewitness accounts
  • Provide multiple perspectives of public opinion
  • Provide editorial perspectives, and social and political commentary on news and events
  • Allow issues to be explored in the context of their time (what else was going on in the world at the same time, and what were people’s lives like?)

Get into the habit!

young woman reading paper over breakfast

Photo by LUM3N on Unsplash

Reading newspapers, whether in print or online, is an excellent habit to get into.

Newspapers will summarise current topics in politics, economics, sports, and arts and entertainment. They provide information to increase your general knowledge, upon which you can develop your own opinions and ideas.