LibGuides: Loreto Library: Databases

Databases

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Provides encyclopedic articles, images, videos and links to relevant websites covering all aspects of history, science and human endeavour.
ReadPlus This link opens in a new window
A guide to books and films for young people aged 5 to 18, searchable by author, title, theme, genre and age-range. Includes reviews and links to teacher resources and author websites.
The Source This link opens in a new window
A guide to children’s literature: books, short stories, traditional literature and poetry from around the world with an emphasis on Australian and New Zealand literature. It contains four separate databases: books & authors, poetry, short stories and awards.
Login required. Email library@loreto.vic.edu.au for access information
A to Z World Culture This link opens in a new window
A database of country information dedicated to helping people understand the world, its people and cultures. Country factfiles include information on culture, history, language, government, education, food, demographic and statistical indicators.
Login required. Email library@loreto.vic.edu.au for details.
World History This link opens in a new window
World History chronicles the most-studied events, periods, cultures, civilisations, religions, conflicts, wars, ideologies, cultural movements and people from the ancient world to today. It includes a vast array of content including journal articles, newspapers and news items, primary source items, reference source entries and biographies, video and audio, images, maps and atlases.
If prompted, log in via the Microsoft option (using your Loreto email address)

eBooks

ePlatform (Wheelers) This link opens in a new window
A library of over 300 eBooks, predominantly young adult fiction, with some general adult popular non-fiction as well.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to hundreds of eBook editions of Gale publications including encyclopedias, handbooks, critical analyses and other non-fictions texts.
If prompted, log in via the Microsoft option (using your Loreto email address)

ClickView - Video Library

Extensive video library accessible remotely

Online Magazines

CHOICE Magazine This link opens in a new window
Independent advice for Australian consumers, with product test reviews and consumer investigations, health, beauty and lifestyle tips with a consumer focus, and expert tips on personal finance matters.
Login required. Contact library@loreto.vic.edu.au for details.
Cosmos This link opens in a new window
Cosmos covers global science highlighting the latest science news, discoveries, developments, events and more, making science accessible to everyone.
Articles on the website are freely available to access, however PDF versions of the current and back issues of the magazine require a login. Email the library for login information - library@loreto.vic.edu.au
New Internationalist This link opens in a new window
Digital edition of the New Internationalist, an independent bi-monthly not-for-profit magazine that reports on action for global justice.
Login required. Please email library@loreto.vic.edu.au for details.

Referencing Tool (for Harvard citation)

Online Referencing Generator This link opens in a new window
An online generator of Harvard author-date system citations for a comprehensive range of information sources, for copying/pasting into bibliographies.

Newspaper Databases and Indexes

Access Australia This link opens in a new window
Featuring more than 650 news sources from across Australia, this fully searchable online resource offers the complete text of thousands of news articles, editorials, obituaries, classifieds and more. Coverage for most titles starts in the 1980s, 1990s or 2000s and continues through the present day. Access Australia includes influential news sources from every state and territory.
Remote access for Loreto staff is via the VPN.
Remote access for Loreto students is via username and password - contact the Library for details.

Access Australia - Loreto User Guide
This is an introductory guide to accessing, browsing and searching newspapers and newspaper articles in the Access Australia database.

Remote Access to NewsBank

Remote access for Loreto staff is via the VPN - ensure it is turned on.

Remote access for Loreto students is via login - contact the Library for the username and password.

Echo Online This link opens in a new window
Contains a searchable news sources database of preselected, high quality resources, and a media files section which provide a detailed analysis of contemporary issues aimed at helping students understand current issues and events and their background.

Loreto Library: Databases