Acting - Performing Arts - Production Role Resources - LibGuides at Loreto College Ballarat

Self-Taping

Spotlight 2017. How to self-tape at home, Online video, 3 March 2017. Duration: 10 min. See the How to self-tape article on the Spotlight website.

Note that these resources focus on using a video camera for recording. For using a smartphone, see Spotlight's podcast:

How to Self-Tape on Your Phone - Spotlight podcast
Podcast (15 min.) on setting up your phone, lighting, background, sound considerations, uploading and submitting your recording.

Acting Styles - Theatre Links
Justin Cash's list of weblinks to acting resources. Use the Styles menu for links on topics from Atellan Farce to Whodunit.
StageMilk
An acting information site, with articles and resources on all aspects of acting, including guides, acting games, useful lists for actors, monologues, plays and playwrights.

The Actor as Storyteller by Bruce Miller
Call Number: NF 792.02 MIL
ISBN: 9780879103866
Publication Date: 2012
Then What Happens? Storytelling and Adapting for the Theater by Mike Alfreds
Call Number: NF 792.028 ALF
ISBN: 9781848422704
Publication Date: 2014
100 Projects to Strengthen Your Acting Skills by Jona Howi
Call Number: NF 792.028 HOW
ISBN: 9781845662332
Publication Date: 2008
The Oberon Book of Comic Monologues for Women by Katy Wix
Call Number: NF 808.8245 SAU
ISBN: 9781849434287
Publication Date: 2014
No Nudity, Weapons or Naked Flames : Monologues for Drama Students by 7-ON
Call Number: A822 NO
ISBN: 9781862878778
Publication Date: 2012

Monologue Rehearsal Log
Monologue performance rubric and self-reflection prompts for completion after each rehearsal.
Character Questionnaire and Worksheet
Create a character plot outline through gathering background and character objective information and determining their unique voice and point of view. Document author: Adrienne Dawes.
Audit Checklist - Acting
Past Production Workbook Folder for Jane Eyre

Neuro Acting 2016. Mastering the monologue. Online video, 29 October 2016. Duration: 6 min.

Tips on choosing, preparing, learning and rehearsing a monologue.

How to Pick a Monologue for an Audition - Backstage
Nine keys points to consider when choosing a monologue.

As well as these online resources, the Loreto Library has books of monologues, as well as many plays that can be browsed for monologues.

The Monologuer - Backstage.com
Contains around 750 monologues. "The Monologuer contains an assortment of classical and contemporary monologues from plays, including Shakespeare, for males, females, kids, and adults. Use the filters to find the monologues perfect for you: search by author, gender, and theme."
Instant Monologues
Free, downloadable monologues, "both carefully-selected classic monologues from public domain plays and original monologues written in contemporary speech on modern topics." For auditions or stand-alone pieces.
Free Monologues for Auditions – Ace Your Audition
Website contains over 1000 free monologues that haven’t been overdone.
Shakespeare's Monologues
A searchable and browseable database of all of Shakespeare's monologues.

Speech Accent Archive - George Mason University
Provides approximately 3000 speech samples from a variety of language backgrounds.
International Dialects of English Archive (IDEA)
Contains approximately 1600 samples from 120 countries and territories.
British Accents and Dialects - British Library
Collection of 77 personal conversations with a range of speakers to reflect accents across the United Kingdom – England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Each sound recording is accompanied by notes on the noticeable features of pronunciation to listen out for, and a transcript of the conversation.
General American (Standard American) Speech for the Stage - IDEA
This is a special collection within the IDEA database with samples recorded by trained speech teachers of American usage for the stage.

MercantorInfogr 2015. Stanislavsky acting methodology. Online video, 28 September 2015. Duration: 5 min.

Stanislavski in 7 Steps: Better Understanding Stanislavski's 7 Questions - New York Film Academy
"For young actors, understanding of Stanislavski’s seven questions is an invaluable foundation upon which to build a character."

Creating a Role by Constantin Stanislavski
Call Number: NF 792.028 STA
ISBN: 0413477606
Publication Date: 1981

Your pocket guide to De-Role - The Arts Wellbeing Collective
Tips and a downloadable pocket guide on "getting out of character and back to your wonderful self."

Farlow, C 2015. Rules for improvisation. Online video, 18 December 2015. Duration: 5 min.

Ten rules for improvisation to create scenes that are engaging and satisfying for participants and audience alike.

Improvisation - BBC Bitesize
This guide to improvisation provides prompts for creating and/or developing characters and scenarios. It illustrates techniques such as transporting a role, using constraints (e.g. space or language), incorporating set lines of speech or subtexts, or mixing up the genre.
FaceTime Improv - YouTube
Video series - connected through FaceTime with the use of two separate phones, and each phone pointed at the other, two guests improvise a scene together based on a random suggestion.