LibGuides: Year 7: Ancient China: Task Topics

Confucianism

Ancient China: Life of Confucius. ClickView (11 min).

Confucianism - National Geographic Resource Library
The origins and ideas of Confucianism, and discusses whether Confucianism is a religion as well as a philosophy.
Confucius: His Life and Teachings - The Confucius website
Website devoted to all things Confucius - his life, Confucianism, his teachings, sayings and the Analects.
47 Confucius quotes that still ring true today - ThoughtCo.
Information on Confucius, his ideologies and philosophy and Confucius quotes that remain relevant in the modern world.
Confucianism - Britannica
Comprehensive article on the thoughts of Confucius, the historical context, the Analects and Confucian philosophers.
Confucianism - Travel China Guide
The life of Confucius, Confucianism and its further development. Note that this information comes from a travel guide.

Terracotta Warriors

Also see the Qin Dynasty page for some additional links.

Terracotta army: The greatest archaeological find of the 20th century. BBC on YouTube (4 mins).

China's Terracotta Army: The Terracotta Warriors - Smithsonian Learning Lab
This "learning lab" allows you to explore objects from the tomb complex and consider what they reveal about the emperor.
How Emperor Qin's Terracotta Soldiers Were Made - ThoughtCo
Details how the clay soldiers and bronze weaponry were formed.
Terracotta Army - World History Encyclopedia
Outlines the purpose of Shi Huang's mausoleum and describes its Terracotta warriors and other artefacts.
Terracotta Warriors: An Army for the Afterlife - Live Science
Information about the first emperor and the contents of the different pits within the mausoleum and what they signify.

Food and Medicine

Acupuncture and Moxibustion of Chinese Medicine. YouTube (8 min).

Top 10 Traditional Ancient Chinese Foods
Medicinal and Historical Value of Chinese Food Therapy - Hektoen International journal
Describes how food and medicine were intertwined in Ancient Chinese beliefs, using examples from Recipes Worth a Thousand Gold.
Traditional Chinese Medicine: A Brief History - Village Remedies
Describes Chinese medical history from the shamans in the Shang Dynasty, the Warring States and Zhou Dynasty, the Huangdi Neijing text from which acupuncture derived and notes on the application of traditional Chinese medicine today.
Traditional Chinese Medicine - Britannica
Comprehensive article on the history of traditional Chinese medicine, including the main periods, the texts, herbal therapy and the role of qi and meridians, as well as modern developments and usage.
Ying and Yang Theory - TCM World
This article clearly explains Ying and Yang Theory and its importance and application in Ancient Chinese culture and medicine.

The Silk Road

Also see the Han Dynasty page for some additional links.

The Silk Road: Connecting the Ancient World Through Trade. Ted-Ed on Youtube (6 min).

The Silk Road - National Geographic Resource Library
An overview of The Silk Road and its importance.
Silk Road - History.com
Describes the formation of the Silk Road, and its impact on trade and exploration.
The Silk Road, Ancient China for Kids - Mr Donn
Summary of the Silk Road, with additional links to explore.
The Silk Road : The History of the Silk Road
This is a website devoted to The Silk Road - timeline, travelers, archeology and how inventions and religion spread along the Road.

The First Emperor

Also see the Qin Dynasty page for additional links to biographical information on Qin Shi Huang.

Shi Huangdi, First Emperor of China. NBC News Learn on YouTube (4 min).

Biography of Qin Shi Huang, First Emperor of China - ThoughtCo.
His early life, ascent to power, unification of China and his legacy.
Emperor Qin Shi Huang: Major Accomplishments and Facts - World History Edu
A summary of achievements.
Legalism - World History Encyclopedia
Shi Huangdi declared Legalism the official philosophy of the Qin Dynasty, burning books of and executing supporters of other philosophies.
The Great Wall of China - National Geographic Resource Library
Qi Shi Huangdi masterminded joining the existing fortifications leading to the creation of the Great Wall.

Myths and legends

The Chinese myth of the immortal white snake. TED-Ed on YouTube (4 min).

(TED-Ed has a playlist of Myths from around the World, which includes some other Chinese myths.)

Ancient Chinese Mythology - Mythopedia
Explore the gods, goddesses, cosmology, creatures and myths of ancient China.
Chinese Dragon, Dragon Worship -China Educational Tours
Dragon worship in China and the dragon in Chinese mythology.
Top 10 Astonishing Ancient Chinese Mythology Stories - Ancient History Lists
Origin [of the] Chinese Zodiac: Why cats and rats are sworn enemies -- Hutong School
Different versions of the origin of the Chinese zodiac exist - this one describes a race at the invitation of the Jade Emperor. It also has a table of years and characteristics for each animal.
Mulan: The Legend Through History - World History Encyclopedia
Information on the legend of Mulan, and comparisons with movie adaptations.

Martial Arts

The extraordinary final test to become a Shaolin master. BBC on Youtube (8 min).

This video demonstrates the skills of Kung Fu at the highest possible level as a candidate prepares to become a Shaolin warrior monk.

Chinese Kung Fu or Wushu - China Educational Tours
The history and spread of Kung Fu, the Shaolin temple, the philosophies that influenced its development, the five animals styles of Kung Fu, and Kung Fu's role in Chinese culture today.
History of Chinese Martial Arts - Chinaculture.org
A comprehensive history of martial art styles throughout the dynasties and their inclusion in Chinese philosophy.
Top 10 Ancient China Martial Artists - ChinaWihisper
Famous ancient Chinese martial artists, and how they contributed to the different styles of practice.
The Who, What and Why of Chinese Martial Arts
The origins of history of Chinese martial arts, their classification, and information of five of the most influential styles.
From Ancient History of Hollywood: A Brief History of Chinese Martial Arts - National Geographic
This article looks at the history of Chinese martial arts and its development through to its place today in modern culture.

Inventions

The four great inventions that changed the world (China). Youtube (4 min).

The Invention of Paper - ThoughtCo.
The development of Chinese paper-making, its spread to other parts of Asia, Europe and the Middle East, and how it was used.
Paper in Ancient China - World History Encyclopedia
The invention of paper, the process and its uses.
The Invention of Gunpowder: A History - Thought Co.
Gun and gunpowder - SlikRoad.com
How gunpowder was invented, vessels used to launch the gunpowder and its spread outside China.
Early Chinese Compass 400 BC - Magnet Academy
The purposes and designs of the first compasses.
Compass, China, 220 BCE - Smith College Virtual Museum of Ancient Inventions
The development of the compass initially to guide a balanced and divine life, through to its use as a navigational aid.
Printing - SilkRoad.com
The invention and process of early Chinese woodblock printing, and its uses.
The Development of Block Printing in China - Encyclopedia.com
This article not only describes the process and impact of block making in China, but the previous intentions and developments of writing and paper, ink and seal-making which enabled the discovery of printing.

Warfare

Ancient Chinese Armor of the Qin Dynasty
Much of what is known about armour from this period is taken from the Terracotta Warriors.
Ancient Chinese Warfare - World History Encyclopedia
Describes attitudes to warfare, weapons. armour, chariots and cavalry, fortification and strategy.
The Art of War - National geographic
Provides an overview of the famous document on tactical warfare written around the Warring States period.
Great Wall of China - Britannica
Information on the construction of the wall for fortification against attack, the design of the passes, signal towers and walls and how it was manned by the military.
Top 10 Ancient Chinese Weapons
Photos and descriptions of bows, spears, swords, shields and other weapons used in Ancient Chinese warfare.