LibGuides: Year 10 Politics: The Rise of China

President Xi Jinping

President Xi Jinping is set to extend his 10-year rule in 2022. This is how China has transformed under his reign - ABC
This article examines Xi Jinping's decade as leader, including his transformation of Chinese politics, treatment of those seen as dissidents, human rights abuses and international relations.

The Rise of Xi Jinping: From Life in Exile to Post-modern Chairman (2019). ABC news. YouTube. Duration: 15 min.

Chairman for Life (2021). Four Corners documentary on ClickView. Duration: 45 min.

China's President Xi Jinping and his quest for world power. An insightful look at his rise to power, how he consolidated his leadership through economic strength, populism and iron fist control, and what is his agenda?

Xi Jinping Biography - Biography.com
Summary of Xi Jinping's early life, rise in the Communist Party to his election as leader, his achievements and controversies, global standing and the expansion of his powers.
Xi Jinping's grip on power is absolute, but there are new threats to his "Chinese Dream" - SBS Dateline website (2019)
This article provides a profile of Xi Jinping, and provides an analysis of his approach to power and leadership, characterised by "surveillance, crackdowns and absolute power".
The life of Xi Jinping - Business Insider (2019)
Profile and photo montage of Xi Jinping - his early life and career, rise to power and an outline of the trade wars with the US and oppression of the Uighurs.

China, If You're Listening - ABC Podcast series

China, If You're Listening - ABC Podcast series (2021)
Season Five of this series focuses on the deteriorating Australian-China relationship (previous seasons have focused on America and Russia).

China's political and economic influence

Poking the Dragon (2021)

Four Corners documentary on ClickView. Duration: 45 min.

Documentary examining how China is wielding political power by implementing trade sanctions against Australia.

Conflict with Tibet "The Roof of The World"

Is Tibet Free? An Introduction to Tibet. (2015). Youtube. Duration; 10 min.

This video provides an overview of Tibet under China's rule. It is produced by the campaign organisation Free Tibet - refer to their website for further information.

Key Issues Facing Tibet Today - Central Tibetan Administration
This information is on the website for the Tibetan Government-in-Exile. The issues described fall into the categories of national independence, loss of culture and religion, breaches of universal human rights and environmental crises. Other information about the Tibetans plight for freedom can also be found here.
Tibet Profile - BBC News
Provides an overview of Tibet, outlining the issue of sovereignty, and the accusations of oppression by China and China’s response, particularly in relation to the Dalai Lama.

Bulldozing Tibet's Past? (2016). Dateline documentary. ClickView. Duration: 24 min.

Is Beijing trying to consign Tibet's ancient culture to history? Dateline talks to Tibetans in fear of losing their architectural and cultural identity.

Self-Immolation Fact Sheet - International Campaign for Tibet
List and profile of Tibetans who have self-immolated in protest since 2009. Each entry includes links to further information.

The Chinese Communist Party

How Does the Chinese Communist Party Operate? (2021). South China Morning Post. YouTube. Duration: 7 min.

This video clearly explains the structure of the CCP and how it cements its rule in China by controlling all aspects of the government and daily life in China, discussing the concepts of democratic centralism, stability through control and loyalty above all else.

China's Congress votes to abolish presidential term limits, allowing Xi Jinping to rule indefinitely - ABC News (2018)
How the two x five year presidential rule was removed, enabling Xi Jinping to rule beyond 2020, and reactions/implications of the change.
The Chinese Communist Party Explainer - Council on Foreign Relations (2020)
In depth look at politics and government in China - the origins of the CCP, its power structure and leadership transition, governance challenges, as well as China's current domestic challenges and foreign policy strategy.
"Follow the Party Forever" : China Plans a Communist Birthday Bash - New York Times (2021)
2021 is the centenary of the CCP. This article looks at the messages the CCP wants to communicate to the Chinese public, and how it intends to limit any dissent.

South China Sea Dispute

What's Behind the South China Sea Dispute? (2020). YouTube. Duration: 10 min.

This video is a primer for understanding the reasons and history behind the long standing dispute over the South China sea, which countries have interests in it and why, and what is being done to manage the dispute.

Explainer: why is the South China Sea such a hotly contested region? - The Conversation (2020)
With militarisation of the South China Sea intensifying, this article explains what international law says about the freedom of navigation and the competing maritime claims.
Why is the South China Sea such a hotspot? - Sydney Morning Herald (2020)
This article outlines the disputed claims, its origin and recent developments, as well as summarising Australia's position and the economic and political consequences for Australia should China control the seas.
South China Sea dispute: China's pursuit of resources 'unlawful', says US - BBC News (2020)
Outlines the US denouncement of China's claims on the Spratly Islands in the South China Sea, the history of the dispute, and China's reaction.

Spratly Islands: Reef Madness (2014). Foreign Correspondent. ClickView. Duration: 28 min.

China-Taiwan Sovereignty Conflict

China and Taiwan (2018). ABC News education segment. ClickView. Duration: 5 min.

A basic overview of the historical and political relationship and building tension between China and Taiwan.

China and Taiwan: A really simple guide to a growing conflict - BBC News
Why China-Taiwan Relations Are So Tense - Council on Foreign Relations
This in depth article explains the tension between China and Taiwan, how China has intimidated and undermined Taiwan in order to shift support towards unification with China. It also raises the question of the US defending Taiwan as part of the deterioration of US-China relations.
China is antagonising Taiwan. How Will the US and Australia Respond? - ABC News (2021)
As neither party to the dispute looks like backing down, this article provides an update to the tensions, and questions whether and how the US would intervene.

Is Taiwan Part of China? (2021). The Economist segment. YouTube. Duration: 14 min.

Taiwan's sovereignty has been disputed for centuries. Recent actions indicate that China has not ruled out taking Taiwan by force.

The Chinese Dream

The Chinese Dream is a Global Aspiration (2018). CGTN presentation. YouTube. Duration: 5 min.

This is the message of The Chinese Dream from one of the state-owned TV networks. It states aims for a strong China in terms of politics, the economy and military, and a civilised, harmonious and beautiful China. It differentiates the Chinese Dream from the American Dream as collectivism versus individualism.

Xi Jinping and the 'Chinese Dream' - DW news website
This article outlines the background to the Chinese Dream, describes its vision and messaging of the Dream, and includes the Belt and Road Initiative as an example.

Human Rights Watch & 2022 Beijing Olympics

China: Events of 2019
This report by Human Rights Watch summarises the developments that occurred throughout 2019 in relation to various human rights issues concerning China. These include, amongst others, Xinjiang (Uighurs), Hong Kong, Tibet, freedom of expression and mass surveillance, the rights of women and girls.
Full-blown Boycott Pushed for Beijing Olympics - AP News article
Various groups alleging human rights abuses by China are calling for a boycott of the 2022 Winter Olympics Beijing and urging the IOC to remove the games from Beijing.

Oppression of the Uighurs

Why More Than a Million Uighurs Are Being Held in Camps in China (2020). Guardian News. YouTube. Duration: 5 min.

Video outlines who the Uighurs are, why they are being targeted en masse, reports of life in the "re-education" camps and whether the situation equates to genocide.

Tell the World: The Silent Plight of China's Uighurs (2019). ClickView. Duration: 47 min.

Film in which Muslims in Australia reveal how mass detention camps and heavy surveillance has affected the lives of their families in China.

Who are the Uighurs and why is China being accused of genocide? – BBC News (2021)
Articles describes the Uighur population and the allegations against China of genocide and security crackdowns in the form of internment camps. Also contains links to related news items.
Uyghurs in Australia call for genocide declaration in wake of report into China's Xinjiang region policies - ABC News (2021)
Indicates a new report has found the CCP has violated the 1948 Genocide Convention as countries around the world declare a finding of the same, and calls on reports by Uighurs in Australia to do the same.
China’s Repression of Uyghurs in Xinjiang Explainer - Council on Foreign Relations (2021)
In depth and clear article on the mass detention of Uighurs, camp conditions and other forms of oppression in the province by the Chinese government. It also looks at the response from other countries as well as how Chinese officials have reacted to the criticisms levelled against China.
Uyghur Human Rights Project website
This independent non-profit organisation publishes reports and analyses promoting and defending the human rights of the Uyghurs and other Muslim people in East Turkistan (Xinjiang region). This website is a good source for following recent developments.