VCE History Units 3 & 4: Revolutions: Websites - American Revolution

A 25 episode lecture series from Yale University. The course takes a “broad perspective, tracing the participants’ shifting sense of themselves as British subjects, colonial settlers, revolutionaries, and Americans.” Go to the Sessions tab to play the lectures. You may need to open the Course Materials link in a new tab to download the zip file (includes transcripts).

Test your knowledge about the American Revolution with this multiple choice quiz.

Website contains hundreds of primary and secondary sources to help you understand events in America between 1763 and 1789. Includes topic pages, timelines, glossaries, biographical profiles and quotes, concept maps and activities such as crosswords and quizzes.

A brief overview of the American colonial experience under British supervision.

Sections for topics including Articles of Confederation, Shays' Rebellion, Constitutional Convention, Federalist Papers, Bill of Rights, the social consequences of the revolutionary ideals, attitudes about slavery and change in American society.

Outlines Madison's influence on the creation and intent of the U.S. Constitution, earning him the title of "Father of the Constitution"

Information and further reading about Charters of Freedom documents - the Declaration of Independence, Constitution and Bill of Rights.

Correspondence and writings of six shapers of the US: George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton and James Madison. Over 183,000 fully annotated, searchable documents.

"By investigating the lives and events recorded in newspapers, official documents and personal correspondence from our collection, you will immerse yourself in the past and discover the fears, friction and turmoil that shaped these tumultuous times."

Use the menu to navigate to the Learn and Full Research Library sections for information on the Boston Tea Party and all aspects of the American Revolution.

Website shares the "story of the collapse of the British Empire and the making of an American nation through the same myriad influences that shaped the perspectives of the extraordinary people—free and enslaved, women and men, rich and poor, Native American and European—who transformed the Atlantic world in the second half of the eighteenth century."

"This is the story of the American Revolution and the loss of Britain's North American colonies during the eighteenth century." This site contains American Revolution articles, essays and images from the British Library collection.

A summary of the War of Independence.

An easy to understand summary of the economic system of trade that spanned from the 16th to 18th century.

A collection of essays, videos, audio files and images to tell the stories of the American Revolution.

An essay on the Age of Enlightenment, or Age of Reason, and how it provided a philosophical basis for the American Revolution. The Sage American History website has a number of other sections that will also be useful in understanding the American Revolution.

This website brings together a wide range of resources covering the causes, events and consequences of the American Revolution.

"Yes" and "No" viewpoint essays on whether the Revolution helped liberate women from their traditional subservient status.