Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

VCE History Units 3 & 4: Revolutions: Library Online Resources - French Revolution

A resource guide to support VCE History Units 3 and 4: Revolutions

Artwork - Liberty leading the people

Delacroix, Eugene, 1830. Liberty leading the people (July 28, 1830). Painting, Louvre, Paris. 

Example articles from Library databases

Commire, A 1994. 'Georges-Jacques Danton' in Historic World Leaders, Gale, Gale in Context: World History. 

'French Enlightenment' 2019, Gale in Context Online Collection, Gale, Gale in Context: High School. 

French Revolution 2019, Britannica School

Krawczynski, K 2003. 'French Revolution: Was there a Causal Relationship Between the American and French Revolutions?' in History in Dispute, St James Press, Gale eBooks. 

Latrielle, A 2003. 'Civil Constitution of the Clergy' in New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd ed, Gale, Gale in Context: World History. 

Lerner, A 2006. 'Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen' in Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources, Gale, Gale in Context; World History. 

McPhee, P 2006. 'French Revolution' in Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire, Gale, Gale eBooks. 

McPhee, P 2006. 'Committee of Public Safety' in Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire, Gale, Gale in Context: World History. 

Stearns, P 2001. 'Robespierre, Maximilien François Marie Isidore de (1758–1794)' in Encyclopedia of European Social History, Gale, Gale eBooks. 

Stock, J 2014. 'The French Revolutionin Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History, Gale. Gale eBooks.

Sutherland, D 2004. 'Estates-General, 1789' in Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World, Charles Scribner's Sons, Gale in Context: World History. 

Databases for searching

The following databases are recommended for searching for information on this topic:

Problems accessing these links?

The Library's online resources are subscription based, with access restricted to Loreto staff and students. When following the article links, you may be prompted to authenticate (log in). Refer to the "more" section for the corresponding resource in the Database box above for information on how to log in. 

Need help? Email the Library