Library Online Resources - American Revolution - VCE History Units 3 & 4: Revolutions

Databases for searching

The following databases are recommended for searching for information on this topic:

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
If prompted, log in via the Microsoft option (using your Loreto email address)
World History This link opens in a new window
If prompted, log in via the Microsoft option (using your Loreto email address)

American colonies 2019, Britannica School.

American Revolution 2019, Britannica School.

'American Revolution (1775 - 1783)' 2008 in Gale Encyclopedia of World History: War, Gale, Gale in Context: World History.

Batten, D 2010 'Constitution of the United States' in Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd edn, vol 3, pp. 122-129, Gale, Gale eBooks.

Colonial America to 1763 2019, Britannica School.

French and Indian War 2019, Britannica School.

Levy, L 2000, 'Bill of Rights (United States)' in Encyclopedia of the American Constitution vol 1, pp. 175-178, Gale, Gale eBooks.

Patrick, J 2016 'Declaration of Independence' in American Governance vol. 2, pp. 4-9, Gale, Gale eBooks.

Stock, J 2014 'The Boston Tea Party: December 16, 1773' in Global Events: Milestone Events Throughout History, Gale, Gale in Context: World History.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to hundreds of eBook editions of Gale publications including encyclopedias, handbooks, critical analyses and other non-fictions texts.
If prompted, log in via the Microsoft option (using your Loreto email address)

With Gale eBooks you can search across the content of all its publications, however the below reference books may be particularly useful.

American Eras: Primary Sources Vol. 6: The Revolutionary Era, 1754–1783
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Revolutionary Era in U.S. history. There are other volumes in this set for periods before and after the Revolution.
American Revolution Reference Library
This 4-volume set provides in-depth information about all aspects of the American Revolution. It includes biographies, explores topics such as why the colonists came to the New World; colonial life before the Revolution; literature and arts of the Revolutionary period; the events that led up to the Revolution; the roles of Blacks and Native Americans in the war; the assembling of the Continental army; the Revolutionary War battles; what brought the war to a close, and excerpts from documents, narratives, satirical pieces, pamphlets, and letters that explore events surrounding the American Revolution.
French and Indian War
Contains historical overviews, biographical entries, and primary source material on the French and Indian War, with further chapters on how the war contributed to conflict in North America.

See the Gale eBooks guide for detailed information on how to search, print, download, save etc.