Skip to Main Content

LGBTQIA+: Library Collection

ClickView Video Library - Pride Playlist

Pride Playlist
This playlist is a collection of documentaries, news and current affairs, drama series and movies. Note that rating classifications apply, so students in Yrs 7-9 have access to a smaller list than senior students.

ClickView Video Library - AMAZE Channel

The AMAZE channel on ClickView has a range of short and engaging age appropriate puberty and sex education videos.

AMAZE Gender Identity playlist
Videos cover topics such as the range of gender identities, the difference between sex assigned at birth and gender identity, what it means to be transgender, puberty and transgender youth and how to be an ally.
Note that rating classifications apply, with some videos in the list only viewable by students in Yrs 10 and above.
AMAZE Sexual Orientation playlist
Videos cover topics such as sexual orientation and identity, sexuality, asexuality and coming out.
Note that rating classifications apply, with some videos in the list only viewable by students in Yrs 10 and above.

Informit Explore database

Informit Explore
Designed specifically for secondary schools and public libraries, Informit Explore contains Australian-centric authoritative research and learning content from a broad range of Australian journals and other publications. Users can search the database or browse the subject or issue-based directory as a starting point to explore issues affecting Australia and Australians. The database has a strong First Nations focus.
This is a new resource. While authentication is being arranged, please contact the Library for the passcode.

LGBTQI+ Rights - Informit Explore topic
This topic page provides a summary of LGBTQI+ rights which encompasses legal and society recognition and protection: legal progress and milestones, challenges and ongoing struggles and ntersectionality. It links to featured articles and provides suggested key words for further searching in the database.
Gender Identity - Informit Explore
Topic page and featured articles as a starting point to research on gender identity.

Non-Fiction

Everything under the moon: fairy tales in a queerer light by Michael Earp (editor) ; Kit Fox (illustrator)
Call Number: NF 398.2 EVE

ISBN: 9781922863645

Publication Date: 2023
Growing up queer in Australia by edited by Benjamin Law
Call Number: NF 306.76092 GRO

ISBN: 9781760640866

Publication Date: 2019
Have pride: An inspirational history of the LGBTQ+ movement by Stella Caldwell
Call Number: NF 306.76 CAL

ISBN: 9781783125500

Publication Date: 2020
The pronoun lowdown by Nevo Zisin
Call Number: NF 305.3 ZIS

ISBN: 9781925811803

Publication Date: 2021

Biography

All boys aren't blue: A memoir-manifesto by George M. Johnson
Call Number: BIO 306.7662092 JOH

ISBN: 9780241515037

Publication Date: 2021
Finding Nevo: How I confused everyone by Nevo Zisin
Call Number: 306.7680835 ZIS

ISBN: 9781925381184

Publication Date: 2017
Big love: Reclaiming myself, my people, my country by Brooke Blurton
Call Number: BIO 305.89915092 BLU

ISBN: 9781460761519

Publication Date: 2023

Sidekick squad series (3 in series) by C. B. Lee
Call Number: ADVENTURE F LEE

ISBN: 9781945053030

Publication Date: 2016-2019

Set in a world after a catastrophic solar flare sparked the beginning of a series of worldwide natural disasters and political upheaval, but also catalyzed a latent gene present in humans that would present itself in the form of extraordinary abilities. There are many queer diverse characters throughout the series.

Gift series (3 in series) by Caroline O'Donoghue
Call Number: PARANORMAL F ODO

ISBN: 9781406393095

Publication Date: 2021-2023

Maeve’s strangely astute tarot readings make her the talk of the school, until a classmate draws a chilling and unfamiliar card—and then disappears. Includes strong gender, sexual and racial diversity representation.

Senior Fiction

One last stop by Casey McQuiston
Call Number: S MCQ

ISBN: 9781250244499

Publication Date: 2021
Red, white and royal blue by Casey McQuiston
Call Number: S MCQ

ISBN: 9781250316776

Publication Date: 2019
Less by Andrew Sean Greer
Call Number: S GRE

ISBN: 9780316316132

Publication Date: 2018

2018 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction winner

Highlighting Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

Imogen, obviously by Becky Albertalli
Call Number: ROMANCE F ALB

ISBN: 9780008607333

Publication Date: 2023
Kate in waiting by Becky Albertalli
Call Number: ROMANCE F ALB

ISBN: 9780241512357

Publication Date: 2021
What if it's us? by Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera
Call Number: ROMANCE F ALB

ISBN: 9781471176395

Publication Date: 2018
Here's to us by Becky Albertalli & Adam Silvera
Call Number: ROMANCE F ALB

ISBN: 9781398505209

Publication Date: 2021
The first to die at the end by Adam Silvera
Call Number: DYSTOPIAN F SIL

ISBN: 9781398519978

Publication Date: 2022

Prequel to They both die at the end.
They both die at the end by Adam Silvera
Call Number: DYSTOPIAN F SIL

ISBN: 9781471166204

Publication Date: 2017
The survivor wants to die at the end by Adam Silvera
Call Number: DYSTOPIAN F SIL

ISBN: 9781398550568

Publication Date: 2025

Fiction Highlights

Sixteen souls by Rosie Talbot
Call Number: PARANORMAL F TAL

ISBN: 9781761298707

Publication Date: 2022
We could be something by Will Kostakis
Call Number: RELATIONSHIPS F KOS

ISBN: 9781761180170

Publication Date: 2023
Felix ever after by Kacen Callender
Call Number: RELATIONSHIPS F CAL

ISBN: 9780571368013

Publication Date: 2021
Take a bow, Noah Mitchell by Tobias Madden
Call Number: ROMANCE F MAD

ISBN: 9780143777397

Publication Date: 2022
The Sunbearer Trials by Aiden Thomas
Call Number: FANTASY F THO

ISBN: 9781035008612

Publication Date: 2022
The monster of her age by Danielle Binks
Call Number: RELATIONSHIPS F BIN

ISBN: 9780734419736

Publication Date: 2021
Cemetery boys by Aiden Thomas
Call Number: PARANORMAL F THO

ISBN: 9781035008636

Publication Date: 2022

Graphic Novels

Stand up! by Tori Sharp
Call Number: GRAPHIC NOVEL F SHA

ISBN: 9780316538930

Publication Date: 2024
Stars in their eyes by Jessica Walton and As̀ka
Call Number: GRAPHIC F WAL

ISBN: 9781760990718

Publication Date: 2021
Jo: An adaptation of Little women (sort of) by Kathleen Gros
Call Number: GRAPHIC F GRO

ISBN: 9780062875969

Publication Date: 2020
The greatest thing by Sarah Winifred Searle
Call Number: GRAPHIC F SEA

ISBN: 9781761067655

Publication Date: 2022
Heartstopper series (5 in series) by Alice Oseman
Call Number: GRAPHIC F OSE

ISBN: 9781444951387

Publication Date: 2019

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love.
Lumberjanes comic series (6 in series) by Noelle Stevenson & Grace Ellis
Call Number: GRAPHIC F STE

ISBN: 9781608866878

Publication Date: 2015