Year 10 Human Wellbeing Inquiry: Home

The ABS provides Australia’s official statistics and statistical publications on all aspects on Australia and Australian life – economy, industry, people, health, labour and the environment.

AIHW is Australia’s leading health and welfare statistics agency. The two flagship biannual reports Australia’s Health and Australia’s welfare are available on this site, as well as a range of reports and data on specific topics and population groups.

As well as current Australian weather, climate and water information, the BOM also has a vast archive of weather observations, analyses and statistics

Vic Data is a portal for easy to find and use freely available data owned or generated by Victorian government departments (e.g. Department of Health and Human Services) and agencies (e.g. TAC – Transport Accident Commission).

The central source of Australian open government data published by local, state and federal government agencies, as well as data published by private institutions if the research was funded by the government. What format the data appears in varies, it may include published research reports or datasets (raw data).

"The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 265 world entities."

"Gapminder is an independent educational non-profit fighting global misconceptions" by providing easily understood fact-based worldviews. A variety of photo and graphical representations can be made using Gapminder tools such as Dollar Street, bubble charts and maps.

"This Index allows you to compare well-being across countries, based on 11 topics the OECD has identified as essential, in the areas of material living conditions and quality of life" - housing, income, jobs, community, education, environment, civic engagement, health, life satisfaction, safety, work-life balance.

The OECD provides charts, maps, tables and related publications across indicators of agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, finance, government, health, innovation and technology, jobs and society in order to help inform better policies and solutions to a range of global challenges

Our World in Data’s mission is to publish the ”research and data to make progress against the world’s largest problems.” It is produced by Oxford University and the Global Change Data Lab.

provides a range of demographic indicators via a population period or world map visualisation.

Access and explore human development data for 193 countries and territories worldwide. For a selected country, it allows you to make a comparison with 3 other countries.

"The HDI was created to emphasize that people and their capabilities should be the ultimate criteria for assessing the development of a country, not economic growth alone." The HDI considers the dimensions of long and healthy life, knowledge and a decent standard of living.

Current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries. It provides 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.

Global environment statistics compiled from a wide range of data sources based on the indicator themes of air and climate, biodiversity, energy and minerals, forests, governance, inland water resources, land and agriculture, marine and coastal areas, natural disasters and waste

Find open data on all aspects of global and local development by country or by indicator (e.g., gender, health, education, poverty, aid effectiveness, economy, environment and climate change)

The portal to WHO’s data and analyses on global health priorities, situations and trends

"Worldmapper is a collection of world maps called cartograms, where territories are resized on each map according to the subject of interest"

Worldometers provides real-time data estimates on a wide range of indicators including population, government, food, health, society and media, energy and environment. Estimates are based on data from national and international organisations and statistical agencies.