Skip to main content

Information Resources to Support Remote Teaching and Learning: Home

Introduction to resources on this page

To help teachers prepare and deliver content to remote students in these extraordinary times, a number of suppliers of information resources are making their content freely available for a limited time. As the Loreto Library is made aware of these resources, they will be added to this page.

If teachers are aware of other resources/offers, they are asked to inform the Library so they can be added/shared. 

Students may also access these resources to complete assessment tasks or to further their own interest. 

Don't forget! A wide range of other Library subscribed online resources can be found on the existing Database and eBook tabs on the main Library website

Britannica LaunchPacks available until end Term 3 (HASS & Science Resources)

Britannica LaunchPacks

Login if prompted:

Access ID is loretocol and Password is sturt@19

 

Humanities and Social Sciences LaunchPack

Science LaunchPack

Britannica LaunchPacks are fully customisable content sets, containing up to date, curriculum aligned content - images, articles, websites and video. Use the content sets to create differentiated lessons, study packs and assignments that can be easily shared online. 

Students are also encouraged to use the LaunchPacks conten for independent study. 

 

Gale One File databases available until end May (Resources for ALL subject areas)

Password if prompted: gift

An extensive reference library of articles from journals and academic content from other sources, including multimedia.

Gale Academic OneFile and all its sub-collections (e.g. Science, Fine Arts, Health, Religion) are available. You can search across the collections or select individual ones. If you select an individual collection, you can also locate material by browsing, beginning with a discipline, then sub-topics.

Recommended for teachers with content suitable for students at Year 10 level or above. 

 

Gale Interactive Science available until end May

Link to Gale Interactive Science

Access code if prompted: gift

Explore science from every angle with this practical, interactive database. Authoritative, high quality digital content is paired with interactive 3D models that you can zoom in, rotate or pull apart. It's a highly visual tool providing a comprehensive view of the most-studied science subjects. The range of content caters for varied learning preferences and facilitates differentiated learning. Explore the structures of the human body, use the interactive periodic table, dissect something and dig deep into earth science - students also love this resource for the way in which it promotes self-discovery. 

Gale Health and Wellness database available until end June

Password if prompted: hwrc

The Gale Health and Wellness database provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related information, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. Search the database or browse over 300 health and wellness related topics.

Content is updated daily with articles from news sources, academic journals, reference works, magazines, video and audio. 

Additional Gale eBooks available until end May (Humanities Resources)

Password if prompted: gift

Note: These texts are in addition to the Gale eBooks for which the Loreto Library already has a subscription. See the Databases tab from the Library homepage for the Loreto subscribed Gale resources (Gale in Context: World History, Gale in Context: High School and Gale eBooks).*

The eBooks have unlimited access, making them ideal as a virtual class set, designed for Years 5-11 and based on Australian Curriculum based themes. 

You can search within an individual book title, or across all of the collection. For basic help searching and using the site and document tools, refer to the Gale eBooks help guide from the library website. 

* If prompted to log in to these resources, select the login with Microsoft office option (using your Loreto email address). 

Gale in Context: Science database available to end May

Access to Gale in Context: Science

Password if prompted: gift

This database serves as an online science encyclopedia supported by an extensive reference library, providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Content includes full-text articles from magazines, academic journals and newspapers as well as experiments, images, video, audio files, and links to vetted websites. Search across content or use the browse topic feature. Results can be intuitively filtered which makes it easier to find content for an appropriate user level. 

RiAus Education - The Royal Institution of Australia (Science Resources)

The RiAUs Education platform contains topical STEM content, all mapped to the Australian National Curriculum with scientific understanding, inquiry and human endeavour questions included.

To access the associated PDF Teaching Resources, create a free account and log on. 

Go to the How to Use this Site guide to see the range of content and types of resources provided. 

What about copyright during this time?